How can we help you today?

Syncing with Dropbox

Syncing with Dropbox is available on Android, Windows, and iOS devices.

The sync process in Nebo is not automatic.

Getting started

Before you can connect to the cloud, you will need to create a MyScript account.

You will also need to purchase the Nebo Full pack, or the Connect pack if you want to sync on an iOS device. 

If you are using an Android or Windows device, these packs are already included in the app.

How Dropbox works

Dropbox allows you to share your notes with the cloud, and from the cloud, across your connected devices. If you change or delete a note on one device, this will be immediately reflected in Dropbox, and then on your other devices the next time you sync.

Connecting to Dropbox on iOS devices

  1. On your device in the Nebo settings, go to: Settings > Account > Sign in. Sign in to your MyScript account. 
  2. Go to: Settings > Sync > Dropbox > Sign in to your Dropbox account
  3. Toggle the Sync tab to on.
  4. Toggle on Sync over cellular if you would like to sync over your cellular provider's network. Note that this can be slower than a standard sync over Wi-Fi.

Connecting to Dropbox on Android devices

  1. Go to: Settings > Account > Sign in. Sign in to your MyScript account. 
  2. Select Dropbox. Sign into your Dropbox account.
  3. Toggle on the Sync tab.

Connecting to Dropbox on Windows devices

  1. Go to: Settings > Sign in. Sign in to your MyScript account. 
  2. Select Dropbox. Sign in to your Dropbox account.
  3. Toggle on the Enable cloud sync tab.
  4. Toggle on Sync over cellular if you would like to sync over your cellular provider's network. Note that this can be slower than a standard Wi-Fi.

Navigating Dropbox and its features

To sync all your notes in one go, tap this icon once in the notebooks panel, or tap the word Sync at the top of the panel. This will sync all of your notes both up to and down from the cloud in one syncing process.
To sync new notes from your Nebo library up to the cloud, tap this icon. Any new notes you have created in Nebo will sync up to the cloud.  This icon will only appear next to notebooks that have not yet been synced up to the cloud.
To sync down from Dropbox down to your Nebo library, tap this icon. This will sync the version of your Nebo library in the cloud down to the Nebo library on your device. This icon will only appear next to notes that have not yet been synced down from the cloud.
Sync down will only be required if you have created or updated notes on another device that need to be synced, or if you have a Dropbox sync conflict. 

Syncing across multiple Devices

Sync in Nebo is not automatic. If you sync your notes across more than one device, it is important to remember to sync any new notes you created up to Dropbox and then from Dropbox down to your other connected devices. This will keep your Nebo library up to date across your devices and prevent cloud conflicts.

Dropbox Sync Conflicts

Cloud conflicts arise when Dropbox detects that different versions of your Nebo library are stored in the cloud and on your device. Dropbox will ask which version of the library you want to keep. It is important to be aware that an incorrect choice can lead to data loss which often cannot be undone.


Open AnywayThis will allow you to open the page on the device. If you make changes to this page and sync up to the cloud, this will become the dominant page version in Dropbox.
Dropbox versionThis will sync the version of your Nebo library in Dropbox down to your device.
If you have new notes on your device that you have not yet synced with Dropbox, these will be overwritten.
Local versionThis will sync the Nebo library on your device up to Dropbox.
If you have notes in Dropbox that have not yet been synced with your device, these will be overwritten.
CancelThis option will cancel the sync process, but it will not resolve the cloud conflict. 

Is there a difference between syncing and backing up my notes?

Yes, syncing and backing up your notes are two very different processes that if confused can lead to data loss. You can read more about this here: Backing-up or syncing your data, what’s the difference?

I accidentally deleted one of my notes. How do I to get it back?

If you accidentally delete one of your notes while you are syncing with Dropbox, this sync service offers you a path to retrieve your lost work:

  1. Open a browser and sign into your Dropbox account.
  2. In the left side panel, select Deleted files, as shown below.
  3. Select the file you would like to restore and select Restore.
  4. If you do not see the required file, you may need to select Show Filters and change the date range.


Does it answer your question?
Yes No

This feedback will be used to improve the content and clarity of our support articles. We cannot respond to questions or support requests submitted here.

For technical support or questions regarding Nebo please submit a support request using the My Tickets tab at the top of this page, or you can click here.

Thanks for your review !

Your say on MyScript apps

Want to get involved in improving MyScript products with our user experience team? Take a few minutes to tell us about yourself, and we’ll contact you when your profile matches one of our research projects.

Get involved