Whatever you delete in Nebo — collections, notebooks, notes or files — all is moved to a separate Trash area. The Trash keeps your deleted items indefinitely, so you can recover them if needed, or permanently delete them anytime (don't forget to empty the Trash now and then to save some storage space on your device).
Please note that notes or files in the Trash can not be open or edited, you need to recover them first.
Accessing the Trash
To open the Trash, depending on your device:
- Apple — Tap the Sidebar icon in the top-left corner of the Notebooks panel, and tap Trash.
- Android — Tap the Trash icon at the bottom of the Notebooks panel.
- Windows — Tap the Trash icon in the top-left corner of the Notebooks panel.
Browsing the Trash
The Trash interface is designed much like the Library, offering the same navigation for quick browsing and recovery.
When you delete content from your Library, Nebo creates a stand-in or placeholder for it in the Trash. This makes it easier to remember where the deleted content was originally located. So, if you delete a page from a notebook, Nebo moves it into a copy of that notebook in the Trash. The same occurs if you delete an entire notebook from a collection.
What you can do inside the Trash
If you've accidentally deleted something in Nebo, you can easily recover it from the Trash. Please see How to recover deleted notes and files from the Trash for guidance.
Permanently delete content
You can permanently delete collections, notebooks and pages from the Trash to save some storage space on your device, or simply keep things tidy. When you permanently delete content, a confirmation prompt allows you to double-check before proceeding. Please be aware that once content is deleted permanently, it cannot be recovered any longer.
To permanently delete a single item, you can simply press & hold it, and tap Delete.
To permanently delete multiple items at once:
- Tap the ⋯ button in the top-right corner, and tap Select.
- Select the items you want to permanently delete.
- Tap Delete in the bottom-right corner.
Empty the Trash
As a shortcut, you can permanently delete all content in the Trash. To do so:
- Tap the Empty trash button or icon in the top-right corner of the Notebooks panel.
- Tap Empty trash in the confirmation alert.
Trash and cloud sync/backup
In Nebo, the Trash is considered as part of your Library, and is synchronized or backed up with it.
If you're using cloud sync in Nebo, this means:
- Content deleted from one device will also be found in the Trash on another device.
- Content recovered from one device will also be put back in your Library on another device.
- Content permanently deleted will be lost on all your devices.
If you're creating a backup, the Trash will also be part of it, and reverted to its previous backup state when restoring.